Author Topic: Cinquains  (Read 5368 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline daisyxo

  • Alley Manager
  • *
  • Posts: 2859
  • Alley Manager
« on: July 06, 2013, 08:03 PM »
The original format for a Cinquain (pronounced sing-cane) consists of 5 lines - each line with a purpose as shown in the chart below.

Line 1 -- 2 syllables - subject
Line 2 -- 4 syllables - subject description
Line 3 -- 6 syllables - action words
Line 4 -- 8 syllables - your feelings on the subject
Line 5 -- 2 syllables - another way to describe the subject


Passionate thoughts
mind drifting, recalling
feeling you whether day or night
our love.


fun in the sun
hot, basking, sweating rays
perfect day to work on a tan
warm glow.


white caps
on the water
shells buried in the sand
seagulls gliding hover in flight


This is a double cinquain -- the first 5 lines use the syllable pattern 2-4-6-8-2 and lines 6-10 follow the pattern:  2-8-6-4-2

Tracing (2)
the lines on my (4)
cheeks, the nectar streams from (6)
my eyes, landing upon a heart (8)
so true (2)
faithful (2)
that is broken - tears sent to mend (8)
and cleanse my soul with love (6)
my breaking heart (4)
beats on (2)


There are many other variations of Cinquains:
   * Reverse cinquain - a form with one 5-line stanza in a syllabic pattern of two, eight, six, four, two.
   * Mirror cinquain - a form with two 5-line stanzas consisting of a cinquain followed by a reverse cinquain.
   * Butterfly cinquain - a nine-line syllabic form with the pattern two, four, six, eight, two, eight, six, four, two.
   * Crown cinquain - a sequence of five cinquain stanzas functioning to construct one larger poem.
   * Garland cinquain - a series of six cinquains in which the last is formed of lines from the preceding five, typically line one from stanza one, line two from stanza two, and so on.

Give it a try!

~ Marsha ~

"Abilities wither under faultfinding, blossom with encouragement." -- Donald A. Laird