Author Topic: my un-free  (Read 3727 times)

Offline Soft Words

• Shoppe Keeper
  • Soft words falling... gently... fading away into time
    • The Guinea Pig Poet
my un-free
« on: February 25, 2009, 12:43 AM »
{feel free to hate me if you like for this one. I believe nature should be allowed to take its course - modern medicine may be able to keep most people alive, but not all of them can actually Live. But what do I know, I'm just a student. *shrug* }

Pale sunlight is filtered through leaves,
wire mesh and glass
before kissing your still paler lips.
You and I, trapped fast
in an endless cycle of
bleed-transfuse-bleed.

Why won't they let you go
when you don't even breathe for yourself
the roses they place at your bedside
or taste the brown goop we pour
straight into your gut?

Emotion tethers you here
along with "the Will of God",
that piece of holy shit.

Long has your voice been gone
from these walls that imprison your body,
is your spirit still here,
is your soul here?
Do you feel the anger I feel for you?

How far is too far,
how much is too much,
how little is nothing
and how can I know?

You are not my father or kin,
and I might deny grief at your passing
had I not understood
caring is a two-edged sword
that never misses the heart.
Life isn't about waiting for the storms to pass, it's about learning to dance in the rain.

Offline Mystic1

• Senior Alley Host
  • To know virtue, acquaint yourself with vice.
Re: my un-free
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2009, 12:42 PM »
This is such a touchy subject, but you've handled it quite well.
There is so much here I hardly know where to begin.
Life constitutes quaility, not merely quantity.

emotion tethers you here...

This is the stick by which most measure. Understandably so.
But we, as family members, must strive to see past our own feelings
and realize what is best for those we love.